The Business Laureates of British Columbia (BLBC) Hall of Fame Cabinet and JA British Columbia (JABC) are pleased to announce the 2017 inductees into the Business Laureates of British Columbia Hall of Fame. The 2017 inductees are:

Ross J. Beaty
Executive Chairman, Alterra Power Corp.
Chairman, Pan American Silver Corp.

David G. McLean, O.B.C., LL.D, F.ICD
Chair, The McLean Group of Companies
Chair Emeritus, Canadian National Railway Company

John McLernon
Honorary Chair and Co-founder, Colliers International

Richard “Ritchie” Nelson (1898-1983)
Founder and Chairman, Nelson Bros. Fisheries Ltd.

These four individuals will be inducted into the BLBC Hall of Fame at the 12th annual Gala Dinner and Induction Ceremonies taking place on May 24, 2017 at the Fairmont Hotel Vancouver.

“On behalf of the Hall of Fame Cabinet, I would like to congratulate the 2017 Laureates,” says Barbara Brink, Gala Co-Chair and Co-Founder. “The impact of their success and contributions to society can be felt throughout the province. They have set a tremendous example for future business leaders.”

“We are honoured to induct these four worthy individuals into the Hall of Fame,” says Olin Anton, Gala Co-Chair. “I congratulate them on this distinction and look forward to celebrating their achievements while inspiring the next generation of business leaders.”

The nomination process was guided by Laureate Selection Sponsor PFM Executive Search, an executive recruitment firm based in Vancouver. Prerequisites for induction include outstanding business achievements, enduring contributions to the province and country, as well as deep commitments to diverse and niche communities.

Final Laureate selection was made by an independent committee comprised of the following members: Brian Canfield, C.M., O.B.C., D.Tech. (Hon.), Chairman Emeritus, TELUS; Anne Giardini, Q.C., Chancellor, Simon Fraser University; George Melville, Chairman & Owner, Boston Pizza International; Jeff Mooney, Chairman & Director, A&W Food Services of Canada Inc.; and Dr. Ken Spencer, Spencer Creo Foundation.

The Gala Dinner and Induction Ceremonies taking place May 24, 2017 is proudly co-presented by Scotiabank and Fasken Martineau and attended by approximately 700 guests annually.

The evening will include a pre-dinner reception, commemorative videos, special guest speakers, JA student presentations and more.