BLBC Hall of Fame Gala Dinner & Induction Ceremonies 2018

Members inducted into the BLBC Hall of Fame:

Peter R.B. Armstrong Founder and CEO of Armstrong Group/ Rocky Mountaineer

Morris Belkin (1916-1987) Founder, Chairman and CEO of Belkin Inc.

Frank Giustra  President and CEO of Fiore Group

Hugh Magee  Chairman of Gwil Industries Inc.

Date: Tuesday, May 8, 2018

Time: 5:45 pm Reception | 6:45 pm Dinner

Location: Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, 900 West Georgia Street, Vancouver

Emcee: Stephen Quinn, Host, The Early Edition, CBC Vancouver

Guest of Honour: The Honourable Janet Austin, O.B.C., Lieutenant Governor of British Columbia

Keynote Speaker: Dominic Barton, Global Managing Partner, McKinsey & Company

JABC Student Award for Oratory and Presentation Skills: Cherry Chen, Alice Ko, Kristy Shum

Junior Entrepreneur Presentation: KLICK

View 2018 Gala video playlist

2018 Business Laureates of British Columbia Hall of Fame Cabinet


  • Barbara Brink, C.M., O.B.C., C.P.A. (Hon)
  • Olin Anton, F.C.P.A., F.C.A.

Past Chairs

  • Peter Blake
  • John C. Kerr, C.M., O.B.C., LL.D.
  • Terry A. Lyons
  • Conrad Pinette
  • Jim Shepard, O.B.C.

Cabinet Members

  • Josh Blair
  • Jamie Brown
  • Robin Dhir
  • Pat Elemans (d. 2020)
  • Casey Forrest – ex-officio
  • Doug Holtby
  • Gary Laxon
  • Phil Lehn
  • Jim Logan
  • Jason Ludwig
  • Tracey McVicar
  • Geoff Plant
  • Peeyush Varshney
  • Will Westeringh, Q.C.
  • Bill Weymark
  • Susan Yurkovich


  • Kelly Heed

Laureate Selection Committee

  • Ross J. Beaty, C.M.
  • Lori Mathison, LL.B., F.C.P.A., F.C.G.A.
  • David McLean, O.B.C., LL.D., F.I.CD.
  • John McLernon
  • Dr. Ken Spencer, Ph.D., LL.D. (Hon), M.B.A., B.A.Sc.

Laureate Nomination Committee

  • Barbara Brink, C.M., O.B.C., C.P.A (Hon) – Committee Chair
  • Peter Blake – ex-officio
  • Pat Elemans (d. 2020)
  • Shelina Esmail – ex-officio
  • Susan Ewanick
  • Jock Finlayson
  • Casey Forrest – ex-officio
  • George Hungerford
  • Terry Lyons – ex-officio
  • John Montalbano
  • Dale Parker
  • Conrad Pinette – ex-officio
  • John Winter