November 14, 2017- The Business Laureates of British Columbia (BLBC) Hall of Fame Cabinet and JA British Columbia (JABC) are pleased to announce the 2018 inductees into the Business Laureates of British Columbia Hall of Fame. The 2018 inductees are:

Peter R.B. Armstrong    Founder and CEO of Armstrong Group/ Rocky Mountaineer

Morris Belkin (1916-1987)    Founder, Chairman and CEO of Belkin Inc.

Frank Giustra     President and CEO of Fiore Group

Hugh Magee     Chairman of Gwil Industries Inc.

These four individuals will be inducted into the BLBC Hall of Fame at the 13th annual Gala Dinner and Induction Ceremonies taking place on May 8, 2018 at the Fairmont Hotel Vancouver.

“On behalf of the Hall of Fame Cabinet, I would like to congratulate the 2018 Laureates,” says Barbara Brink, Gala Co-Chair and Co-Founder. “The lifetime impact of their success and contributions to society can be felt throughout the province. They have set a tremendous example for future business leaders.”

“We are honoured to induct these four worthy individuals into the Hall of Fame,” says Olin Anton, Gala Co-Chair. “I congratulate them on this distinction and look forward to celebrating their achievements while inspiring the next generation of business leaders.”

The nomination process was guided by Laureate Selection Sponsor PFM Executive Search, an executive recruitment firm based in Vancouver. Prerequisites for induction include outstanding business achievements, enduring contributions to the province and country, as well as deep commitments to diverse and niche communities.

Final Laureate selection was made by an independent committee comprised of the following members: Ross Beaty, Executive Chairman, Alterra Power Corp., Chairman, Pan American Silver Corp. 3; Ken Spencer, President, SpencerCreo Foundation; Lori Mathison, President & CEO, CPABC; David McLean, Chairman, McLean Group of Companies, Chairman Emeritus, Canadian National Railways Company; John McLernon, Honorary Chair and Co-Founder, Colliers International.

The Gala Dinner and Induction Ceremonies taking place May 8, 2018 is proudly co-presented by Scotiabank and Fasken Martineau and attended by approximately 700 guests annually.

The evening will include a pre-dinner reception, commemorative videos, special guest speakers, JA student presentations and more.

Proceeds from the BLBC Hall of Fame support the efforts of JABC in delivering high-quality business education programs free-of-charge to over 40,000 students across the province annually.