May 9, 2018 – Over 700 BC business leaders and their guests gathered at the Fairmont Hotel Vancouver on Tuesday, May 8th for the induction of British Columbia’s four newest members into the Business Laureates of British Columbia (BLBC) Hall of Fame.

JA British Columbia (JABC) has been proudly hosting this event since its inception in 2006. This 13th annual Gala Dinner and Induction Ceremonies was co-sponsored by Scotiabank and Fasken Martineau, and emceed by Stephen Quinn, Host, The Early Edition, CBC Vancouver.

JABC was pleased to welcome Guest of Honour, The Honourable Janet Austin, O.B.C., Lieutenant Governor of British Columbia for opening remarks. Dominic Barton, Global Managing Partner, McKinsey & Company delivered the keynote address.

The four members inducted into the Hall of Fame this year are:

·         Peter R.B. Armstrong Founder and CEO of Armstrong Group/ Rocky Mountaineer

·         Morris Belkin (1916-1987) Founder, Chairman and CEO of Belkin Inc.

·         Frank Giustra  President and CEO of Fiore Group

·         Hugh Magee  Chairman of Gwil Industries Inc.

“We are very honoured to induct these four individuals into the Business Laureates of British Columbia Hall of Fame in recognition of their lifetime achievements,” says Sheila Biggers, President and CEO of JA British Columbia. “Their outstanding business accomplishments and community influence have enriched our province. These Laureates are inspiring examples for our next generation of BC business leaders and JABC students.”

The Laureate nomination process was guided by PFM Executive Search, and the final Laureate selection was made by an independent committee that included Ross J. Beaty, Lori Mathison, David McLean, John McLernon and Dr. Ken Spencer.

The four winners of this year’s JABC Student Award for Oratory and Presentation skills – Cherry Chen, Alice Ko and Kristy Shum – gave speeches on the value of their JA experience and how JABC has made an impact on their lives. The Junior Entrepreneur Presentation was delivered by KLICK, a JA Student Company that developed a bike signalling device as part of the after-school JA Company Program.

JABC wishes to recognize the Hall of Fame Co-Chairs Barbara Brink, C.M., O.B.C., and Olin Anton, FCPA, FCA, Former Managing Partner, Deloitte for their valuable guidance and leadership of the Hall of Fame Cabinet as well as their dedication to the mandate of the Business Laureates of British Columbia Hall of Fame.